9th - 12th Sep

15:00 Doncaster 12 Sep 2020

bet365 Park Stakes

Group 2 | Class 1 | 3YO plus

Winner £45,368 - 8 ran

7f 6y


Draw Advantage: None

Last year’s race
Sir Dancealot
  • Winner: Sir Dancealot
  • Jockey: G Mosse
  • Trainer: D R C Elsworth
  • Owner: C Benham/ D Whitford/ L Quinn/ K Quinn
  • Age:  5 Weight: 9st 7lbs
  • Starting Price: 11/4
  • Season Form Figures: 74145
  • Previous Best: 1st - Lennox Stakes (Group 2), Goodwood (Aug 2018)

Watch every race of the Pertemps St Leger Festival 2020 live on Sky Sports Racing (Sky 415 | Virgin 535) from Wednesday 9th to Saturday 12th September.

By Paul Jones

Not as straightforward from a trends perspective as the Park Stakes was upgraded to Group 2 status in 2004 having also been upped from 7f to 1m in the mid-90s so it now attracts classier horses with more stamina so we are only really comparing like with like for the last 16 years.  

This was unquestionably formerly a race to support a three or four-year-old but it has been all change since the elevation to Group 2 standard as there have been two successful seven-year-olds, three winning six-year-olds and two successful five-year-olds in the last 11 years.

 Only three winners were sent off at a double-figure price in the last 28 runnings and 17 of those winners were sent off at no bigger than just 5/1, so it has been a good race for punters. I suppose that is not surprising when we consider that 13 of the last 14 winners had won a Group race earlier in their career, nine of them during the current season. 

The Park Stakes has also been a race that has recently witnessed horses running very well on more than one occasion. In fact, there have been three dual winners since 1996 (Bishop Of Cashel, Iffraaj and Arabian Gleam). In addition, Duff posted finishing positions of 214 up to 2010, Premio Loco won in 2011 having finished second in 2010 and Breton Rock took the spoils in 2016 having finished third to Limato in the 2015 running and he filled the same berth last year. Sir Dancealot could return to defend his title after he was last seen finishing fifth in the Lennox Stakes. 

Sir Michael Stoute has the best recent record winning the Park Stakes on four occasions since 1995 followed by James Fanshawe who has won the race three times. Irish stables have won three times going back to 2009, two courtesy of Edward Lynam.

At a glance summary

Likely to start at no bigger than 5/1
Group race winner earlier in the season
Trained in Ireland
Trained by Sir Michael Stoute or James Fanshawe
Horses to have won or gone close in the race before
Likely to start at double-figure odds
Yet to win at group level

Previous Winners

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Age/Wt OR SP
2019Sir DancealotD R C ElsworthG Mosse5 9-711411/4
2018MustashrySir Michael StouteJim Crowley5 9-41125/2
2017AclaimM Meade (190 miles)O Murphy4 9-4-3/1
2016Breton RockD M Simcock (128 miles)A Atzeni6 9-4-7/2
2015LimatoH Candy (161 miles)A Atzeni3 9-0-9/2
2014AnsgarMiss S J Harty James Doyle6 9-4-7/2
2013ViztoriaE Lynam W M Lordan3 8-11-7/2
2012LibrannoR Hannon (184 miles)K Fallon4 9-4-16/1
2011Premio LocoC Wall (128 miles)G Baker7 9-4-15/8
2010Balthazaar's GiftC Cox (180 miles)P Robinson7 9-4-16/1
2009DuffE Lynam Fran Berry6 9-4-7/1
2008Arabian GleamJ Noseda (128 miles)Johnny Murtagh4 9-4-9/1
2007Arabian GleamJ Noseda (128 miles)Johnny Murtagh3 8-12-5/2
2006IffraajS bin Suroor (128 miles)L Dettori5 9-6-4/6
2005IffraajM Jarvis (128 miles)P Robinson4 9-0-7/1
2004Pastoral PursuitsH Morrison (164 miles)S Drowne3 8-10-5/1
2003Polar BenJ Fanshawe (128 miles)J P Spencer4 9-0-5/1
2002Duck RowJ Toller (128 miles)R Hughes7 9-0-8/1
2001Tough SpeedSir M Stoute (128 miles)K Fallon4 9-0-6/1
2000Distant MusicB W Hills (167 miles)Michael Hills3 8-9-4/1
1999SugarfootN Tinkler (49 miles)Pat Eddery5 9-0-15/2
1998Handsome RidgeJ Gosden (128 miles)L Dettori4 9-4-3/1

Existing User?

Forgot your password?

New User?

Sign up using our simple one-page form and you'll be able to access free video form, tips and exclusive content straight away.