9th - 12th Sep

15:15 Doncaster 10 Sep 2020

bet365 Park Hill Fillies' Stakes

Group 2 | Class 1 | 3YO plus

Winner £45,368 - 7 ran

1m 6f 115y

Good (Good to Soft in places)

Draw Advantage: High

Last year’s race
God Given
  • Winner: Enbihaar
  • Jockey: Jim Crowley
  • Trainer: J H M Gosden
  • Owner: Mr Hamdan Al Maktoum
  • Age: 4 Weight: 9st 8lbs
  • Starting Price: 6/5
  • Season Form Figures: 1211
  • Previous Best: 1st - Lillie Langtry Stakes (Group 2) (Fillies & Mares), Goodwood (Aug 2019)

Watch every race of the Pertemps St Leger Festival 2020 live on Sky Sports Racing (Sky 415 | Virgin 535) from Wednesday 9th to Saturday 12th September.

By Paul Jones

A Group 2 race for fillies and mares over the St Leger trip, Ralph Beckett has trained two of the four winners (and also saddled the 2018 third for good measure) underling what a fine trainer he is of fillies and mares. Following Luca Cumani’s retirement, now leading the way of current-day handlers with four successes is Sir Michael Stoute.  

Of the Irish-based trainers, Aidan O’Brien has yet to record a winner (but his Delphinia was beaten a short-head last year) but John Oxx has been responsible for two seconds, a third and a fourth with his last four runners stretching back to 2001.
Older fillies and mares are 11-5 up since 2004 and 4yos are chasing a fifth consecutive victory. Only two mares aged 5+ have won since the race was opened up to elders in 1991 but it is hard to treat that as a negative particularly as they would also be comprehensively outnumbered.

With regards to three-year-olds, The Lark became the third Oaks runner to win since 2006 (Rising Cross and The Miniver Rose being the others) during the same season to have contested the Oaks when going two places better than at Epsom. As for the Ribblesdale Stakes, four fillies that finished in the first four in that Royal Ascot Group 2 prize in the last 27 years went on to win here. 

As for the older fillies and mares, the Lillie Langtry Stakes at Glorious Goodwood has been their (and the race’s) best guide with five winners of that Group 3 race doubling up here – Enbihaar being the latest last season. God Given was also fourth at Goodwood before winning here last season and the 2015 Lillie Langtry was won by Simple Verse who won the St Leger instead or that would surely have been six. A year later she then contested the Park Hill as a four-year-old and took the honours. Enbihaar beat two rivals (Cabaletta and Snow) to also win this season’s Lillie Langtry and looks set to tackle Group 1 company next.
Over a longer period of time, we must also respect the Sir Henry Cecil & EBF Galtres Stakes with five winners in the last 25 years (all finished in the first four at the Ebor Meeting) and this season was won by Gold Wand who beat Vivionn and Award Scheme.
The Lancashire Oaks, won this season by Manuela de Vega, featured the 2019 Park Hill 1-2 with God Given reversing Haydock placings with Horseplay. Six Park Hill winners since 1992 posted a top-five finish in that Group 2 event at Haydock. Also-rans from the Yorkshire Oaks must also be considered dropping down in class as six of the last 25 Park Hill winners ran in that Group 1 event on the Knavesmire and all six finished unplaced. 

At a glance summary

Ran well in the Lillie Langtry Stakes (notably the winner)
Unplaced in the Yorkshire Oaks
First four in the Galtres Stakes, Lancashire Oaks or Ribblesdale Stakes
Ran creditably in the Oaks
Trained by Ralph Beckett, Sir Michael Stoute or John Oxx
Trained by Aidan O’Brien

Previous Winners

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Age/Wt OR SP
2019EnbihaarJ H M GosdenJim Crowley4 9-81136/5
2018God GivenL M CumaniJ P Spencer4 9-51055/1
2017AlyssaR Beckett (212 miles)P Dobbs4 9-5-25/1
2016Simple VerseR Beckett (212 miles)O Murphy4 9-5-3/1
2015GretchenJ Gosden (128 miles)R Havlin3 8-7-5/1
2014Silk SariL Cumani (128 miles)A Atzeni4 9-5-8/1
2013The LarkM Bell (128 miles)J P Spencer3 8-6-15/8
2012Wild CocoSir H Cecil (128 miles)T Queally4 9-4-7/4
2011MeeznahD Lanigan (128 miles)L Dettori4 9-4-5/2
2010Eastern AriaM Johnston (73 miles)L Dettori4 9-4-5/1
2009The Miniver RoseR Hannon (184 miles)P Dobbs3 8-6-28/1
2008AllegrettoSir M Stoute (128 miles)R L Moore5 9-4-7/4
2007Hi CalypsoSir M Stoute (128 miles)R L Moore3 8-6-9/2
2006Rising CrossJ Best (204 miles)M Dwyer3 8-7-16/1
2005Sweet StreamJ E Hammond Thierry Gillet5 9-3-7/2
2004Echoes In EternityS bin Suroor (128 miles)L Dettori4 9-3-5/1
2003Discreet BriefJ Dunlop (221 miles)Pat Eddery3 8-5-8/1
2002Alexander Three DB W Hills (167 miles)Michael Hills3 8-5-7/4
2001RaninE Dunlop (128 miles)Willie Supple3 8-5-5/1
2000MiletrianM Channon (163 miles)Mr C Williams3 8-10-10/1
1999Mistle SongC Brittain (128 miles)T Quinn3 8-5-8/1
1998DelilahSir M Stoute (128 miles)T Quinn4 9-6-9/1

Existing User?

Forgot your password?

New User?

Sign up using our simple one-page form and you'll be able to access free video form, tips and exclusive content straight away.