9th - 12th Sep

15:35 Doncaster 12 Sep 2020

Pertemps St Leger Stakes

Group 1 | Class 1 | 3YO only

Winner £198,485 - 11 ran

1m 6f 115y


Draw Advantage: High

Mike Cattermole
by Mike Cattermole

The 2020 Pertemps St Leger - live on Sky Sports Racing - may lack a Godolphin contender and a John Gosden-trained runner but it could still produce one of a number of excellent possible stories.

Will Aidan O’Brien and Frankie Dettori both win it for a seventh time and their second together? Will Joseph O’Brien make history by winning it as a trainer as well as a jockey?

Can Jim Crowley win a Classic? Owen Burrows too? Can Sheikh Hamdan win his first St Leger?

Can Mark Johnston finally nail the oldest Classic after going close before?

Or will it go to the horse that nobody wanted to buy, Pyledriver?

Watch every race of the Pertemps St Leger Festival 2020 live on Sky Sports Racing (Sky 415 | Virgin 535) from Wednesday 9th to Saturday 12th September.

Mike Cattermole's Verdict

Petemps St Leger 2020

Three horses stand out on form – PYLEDRIVER, Santiago and .Hukum.

Santiago is the only one who can boast a Group One win. He is also a guaranteed stayer and will be many people’s idea of the winner.

Meanwhile, Hukum is improving fast and surely Jim Crowley will win a Classic sometime.

However, Pyledriver possesses gears and if he switches off well - as he has done before - he can come through late for a famous and popular win.

Subjectivist, English King and Galileo Chrome are next best.

1. PYLEDRIVER 2. Hukum 3. Santiago

Previous Winners

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Age/Wt OR SP
2019LogicianJ H M GosdenL Dettori3 9-11155/6
2018Kew GardensA P O'BrienR L Moore3 9-11163/1
2017CapriA P O'Brien R L Moore3 9-1-3/1
2016Harbour LawMrs L Mongan (187 miles)G Baker3 9-1-22/1
2015Simple VerseR Beckett (212 miles)A Atzeni3 8-12-8/1
2014Kingston HillR Varian (128 miles)A Atzeni3 9-1-9/4
2013Leading LightA P O'Brien J P O'Brien3 9-0-7/2
2012EnckeM Al Zarooni (128 miles)M Barzalona3 9-0-25/1
2011Masked MarvelJ Gosden (128 miles)W Buick3 9-0-15/2
2010Arctic CosmosJ Gosden (128 miles)W Buick3 9-0-12/1
2009MasteryS bin Suroor (128 miles)T Durcan3 9-0-14/1
2008ConduitSir M Stoute (128 miles)L Dettori3 9-0-8/1
2007LucarnoJ Gosden (128 miles)J Fortune3 9-0-7/2
2006Sixties IconJ Noseda (128 miles)L Dettori3 9-0-11/8
2005ScorpionA P O'Brien L Dettori3 9-0-10/11
2004Rule of LawS bin Suroor (128 miles)K McEvoy3 9-0-3/1
2003Brian BoruA P O'Brien J P Spencer3 9-0-5/4
2002Bollin EricT Easterby (49 miles)Kevin Darley3 9-0-7/1
2001MilanA P O'Brien Mick Kinane3 9-0-13/8
2000MillenaryJ Dunlop (221 miles)T Quinn3 9-0-11/4
1999MutafaweqS bin Suroor (128 miles)Richard Hills3 9-0-11/2
1998NedawiS bin Suroor (128 miles)John Reid3 9-0-5/2

Existing User?

Forgot your password?

New User?

Sign up using our simple one-page form and you'll be able to access free video form, tips and exclusive content straight away.