11th - 14th September 2019

15:15 Doncaster 12 Sep 2019

Weatherbys Racing Bank 300,000 2-Y-O Stakes

Class 2 | 2YO only

Winner £147,540 - 20 ran

6f 111y

Good to Firm

Draw Advantage: None

Last year’s race
The Great Heir
  • Winner: The Great Heir
  • Jockey: A Mullen
  • Trainer: K A Ryan
  • Owner: Mr Dave Stone
  • Age: 2 Weight: 8st 9lb
  • Starting Price: 33/1
  • Season Form Figures: 421195
  • Previous Best: 1st – Nursery Handicap, York (July 2018)

Another big sales race for two-year-olds means another huge pot and this will be the race’s 13th edition. 

The Goffs UK Premier Yearling Stakes in which at York’s Ebor Meeting won in devastating fashion by Mum’s Tipple has featured four of the last ten winners. Not so for the last two seasons but those winners, Laugh A Minute and The Great Heir, also ran at the Ebor meeting finishing third in the Convivial Maiden and fifth in the nursery so the whole meeting should be considered closely.

These sales races attract a wide range of abilities and are not as open as may first appear so tend to go to horses that have shown a strong piece of form in relation to their rivals.

These sales races attract a wide range of abilities and are not as open as may first appear so tend to go to horses that have shown a strong piece of form in relation to their rivals so how the Aidan O’Brien-trained Reply, who was officially top rated heading into the 2011 renewal, was allowed to start at 20/1 before his victory remains a mystery.

Staying on that theme, Dream Eater was also top-rated on official figures when winning the inaugural running in 2007, the top-rated Taajub only found one too good in 2009, the two form horses on official figures in 2010 year fought it out with Wootton Bassett beating Galtymore Lad in a repeat of their 1-2 in the Goffs Premier Yearling Stakes at the Ebor Festival. In 2012 the second-top rated on official BHA figures, The Gold Cheongsam, justified favouritism, three of the four top-rated horses heading into the 2015 renewal went on to finish 1-2-3 and the 2016 winner, Mubtasim, was second top-rated.

Richard Fahey supplied the winner, third and fifth in 2010 and the 2014 winner, Bond’s Girl, so he is likely to target the race again and the Hannon stable finally took the honours for the first time four years ago with a 1-2 year. Those two stables also saddled the two placed horses last season at big prices in a Tote Placepot buster with the 1-2-3 sent off at 33/1, 25/1 and 33/1.

At a glance summary

Ran at the Ebor Festival (notably the Goffs Yearling Stakes)
BHA top-rated
Trained by Richard Hannon, Jeremy Noseda or Richard Fahey

Previous Winners

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Age/Wt OR SP
2018The Great HeirK A RyanA Mullen2 8-98733/1
2017Laugh A MinuteR Varian (128 miles)A Atzeni2 8-12-12/1
2016MubtasimW Haggas (128 miles)Pat Cosgrave2 8-9-4/1
2015Mr LuptonR Fahey (49 miles)J P Spencer2 8-9-10/1
2014Bond's GirlR Fahey (49 miles)P Mathers2 8-1-14/1
2013Morning PostK Ryan (99 miles)P Mulrennan2 9-2-100/1
2012The Gold CheongsamJ Noseda (128 miles)Franny Norton2 8-1-11/4
2011ReplyA P O'Brien J P O'Brien2 9-2-20/1
2010Wootton BassettR Fahey (49 miles)P Hanagan2 8-9-2/1
2009Swilly FerryB W Hills (167 miles)W Buick2 8-3-16/1
2008AwinnersgameJ Noseda (128 miles)L Dettori2 8-9-8/1
2007Dream EaterA Balding (179 miles)Franny Norton2 8-12-15/2
2006Doctor BrownB Meehan (190 miles)L Dettori2 8-11-4/1
2005Johnny The FishB Meehan (190 miles)L Dettori2 8-11-20/1
2004Caesar BewareH Candy (161 miles)Dane O'Neill2 8-11-13/8
2003Cape FearB Meehan (190 miles)K Fallon2 8-11-4/1
2002SomnusT Easterby (49 miles)T Durcan2 8-11-10/1
2001AcclamationL G Cottrell (242 miles)L Dettori2 8-11-9/1
2000GogglesH Candy (161 miles)C Rutter2 8-11-14/1
1999Sheer HamasB W Hills (167 miles)John Reid2 8-11-16/1
1998Boomerang BladeB Smart (99 miles)J Stack2 8-6-20/1