11th - 14th September 2019

14:25 Doncaster 14 Sep 2019

HIRD Rail Group Park Stakes

Group 2 | Class 1 | 3YO plus

Winner £61,332 - 5 ran

7f 6y

Good to Firm

Draw Advantage: High

Last year’s race
  • Winner: Mustashry
  • Jockey: Jim Crowley
  • Trainer: Sir Michael Stoute
  • Owner: Mr Hamdan Al Maktoum
  • Age: 5 Weight: 9st 4lb
  • Starting Price: 5/2f
  • Season Form Figures: 12
  • Previous Best: 1st - Strensall Stakes (Group 3), York (Aug 2017)

Not as straightforward from a trends perspective as the Park Stakes was upgraded to Group 2 status in 2004 having also been upped from 7f to 1m in the mid-90s so it now attracts classier horses with more stamina so we are only really comparing like with like for the last 15 years. The subsequent Group 1 Lockinge winner, Mustashry, winning last season would be a good example.

This was unquestionably formerly a race to support a three or four-year-old but it has been all change since the elevation to Group 2 standard as there have been two successful seven-year-olds, three winning six-year-olds and a successful five-year-old in the last decade.

12 of the last 13 winners had won a Group race earlier in their career, eight of them during the current season.

Only three winners were sent off at a double-figure price in the last 27 runnings and 17 of those winners were sent off at no bigger than just 5/1, so it has been a good race for punters. I suppose that is not surprising when we consider that 12 of the last 13 winners had won a Group race earlier in their career, eight of them during the current season.

The Park Stakes has also been a race that has recently witnessed horses running very well on more than one occasion. In fact there have been three dual winners since 1996 (Bishop Of Cashel, Iffraaj and Arabian Gleam). In addition, Duff posted finishing positions of 214 up to 2010, Premio Loco won in 2011 having finished second in 2010 and Breton Rock took the spoils in 2016 having finished third to Limato in the 2015 running. Last season’s 1-2-3 were Mustashry, D’bai and Oh This Is Us. Nothing strong but the Group 2 Celebration Mile at Goodwood in which Duke Of Hazzard beat Turgenev, has feature three winners in the last 16 years.

Sir Michael Stoute has the best recent record winning the Park Stakes on four occasions since 1995 followed by James Fanshawe who has won the race three times. Irish stables have won three times going back to 2009, two courtesy of Edward Lynam.

At a glance summary

Likely to start at no bigger than 5/1
Group race winner earlier in the season
Trained in Ireland
Trained by Sir Michael Stoute or James Fanshawe
Horses to have won or gone close in the race before
Respect the Celebration Mile form
Likely to start at double-figure odds
Yet to win at group level

Previous Winners

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Age/Wt OR SP
2018MustashrySir Michael StouteJim Crowley5 9-41125/2
2017AclaimM Meade (190 miles)O Murphy4 9-4-3/1
2016Breton RockD M Simcock (128 miles)A Atzeni6 9-4-7/2
2015LimatoH Candy (161 miles)A Atzeni3 9-0-9/2
2014AnsgarMiss S J Harty James Doyle6 9-4-7/2
2013ViztoriaE Lynam W M Lordan3 8-11-7/2
2012LibrannoR Hannon (184 miles)K Fallon4 9-4-16/1
2011Premio LocoC Wall (128 miles)G Baker7 9-4-15/8
2010Balthazaar's GiftC Cox (180 miles)P Robinson7 9-4-16/1
2009DuffE Lynam Fran Berry6 9-4-7/1
2008Arabian GleamJ Noseda (128 miles)Johnny Murtagh4 9-4-9/1
2007Arabian GleamJ Noseda (128 miles)Johnny Murtagh3 8-12-5/2
2006IffraajS bin Suroor (128 miles)L Dettori5 9-6-4/6
2005IffraajM Jarvis (128 miles)P Robinson4 9-0-7/1
2004Pastoral PursuitsH Morrison (164 miles)S Drowne3 8-10-5/1
2003Polar BenJ Fanshawe (128 miles)J P Spencer4 9-0-5/1
2002Duck RowJ Toller (128 miles)R Hughes7 9-0-8/1
2001Tough SpeedSir M Stoute (128 miles)K Fallon4 9-0-6/1
2000Distant MusicB W Hills (167 miles)Michael Hills3 8-9-4/1
1999SugarfootN Tinkler (49 miles)Pat Eddery5 9-0-15/2
1998Handsome RidgeJ Gosden (128 miles)L Dettori4 9-4-3/1