11th - 14th September 2019

15:10 Doncaster 13 Sep 2019

Magners Rose Doncaster Cup Stakes

Group 2 | British Champions Series | Class 1 | 3YO plus

Winner £56,710 - 5 ran

2m 1f 197y

Good to Firm

Draw Advantage: None

Last year’s race
Thomas Hobson
  • Winner: Thomas Hobson
  • Jockey: R L Moore
  • Trainer: W P Mullins
  • Owner: Mrs S Ricci
  • Age: 8 Weight: 9st 5lb
  • Starting Price: 2/1f
  • Season Form Figures: 65
  • Previous Best: 2nd - Doncaster Cup Stakes, Doncaster (Sept 2017)

A horse starting in the first three in the betting has won the Doncaster Cup for the last 17 years (one of which dead-heated with a 14/1 shot) so punters have enjoyed a good time of it and particularly punters who sided with a contender in the top three in the market that ran in the Lonsdale Cup at the York Ebor Meeting won by Stradivarius like last year. This season, however, his connections have a little surprisingly decided to also take in the Doncaster Cup where he is likely to meet the third at York, Dee Ex Bee, who also placed behind him in the Ascot Gold Cup and Goodwood Cup.

Although the Lonsdale Cup is run over a 2f shorter distance, it has been by far and away the pivotal guide as that Group 2 prize at York last month has featured ten of the last 15 Doncaster Cup winners. On two of the four occasions when that was not the case since 2003, the Lonsdale Cup winner finished second here. Even more to the point, six of the nine most recent Doncaster Cup winners that contested the Lonsdale Cup were also successful at York (Boreas, Millenary, Sergeant Cecil, Septimus, Askar Tau and Times Up).

Although the Lonsdale Cup is run over a 2f shorter distance, it has been by far and away the pivotal guide as that Group 2 prize at York last month has featured ten of the last 15 Doncaster Cup winners.

The Ascot Gold Cup is the second-best guide as nine of the last 23 Doncaster Cup winners took their chance at the Royal Meeting over an extra quarter-mile but found this Grade-lower contest over a shorter distance more to their liking, though I would only argue that is par for the course. More interesting is that class has shone through more often than not of late with 14 of the last 23 winners having won a Group 2 race or better earlier in the career so many winners were defying a penalty.

Last year’s 1-2-3 were aged 8, 8 and 9. Older stayers have really come to the fore in recent seasons with five seven-year-olds (Times Up, Sergeant Cecil, Boreas, Millenary and Sheikhzayedroad), two eight-year-olds (Millenary again and Thomas Hobson) and Persian Punch at the age of ten winning the Doncaster Cup since 2003 and, moreover, three of the last ten runnings have been won by six-year-olds (Samuel, Times Up and Pallasator). Compare that to the wretched record of horses aged over six in the Ascot Gold Cup until the Yeats era.

Alleluia, Saddler’s Rock and Desert Skyline have won the Doncaster Cup aged three since Weld back in 1989 (and 18 since 1900) but they have hardly been laden with runners and have actually fared very well with those that have taken their chance which also includes two seconds and two thirds from just 11 contenders going back to 1989.

Surprisingly given their many successes in other Cup races, Godolphin have yet to win the Doncaster Cup but just five runners in the last 17 years goes a long way to explaining why. The Irish have won four times from few runners since 2007 and last season witnessed a 1-2 for the Mullins-Ricci pair of Thomas Hobson and Max Dynamite. Aidan O’Brien has saddled two winners and a runner-up from his five runners. He may not have the firepower of a few years ago but also note John Oxx if he sends one over having won this prize with Enzeli in 2000 before Saddler’s Rock’s success eight years ago.

At a glance summary

Ran in the Lonsdale Cup (notably the winner)
Won at Group 2 level or higher
Trained in Ireland
Aged 6+
Outside the first three in the betting

Previous Winners

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Age/Wt OR SP
2018Thomas HobsonW P MullinsR L Moore8 9-51072/1
2017Desert SkylineD Elsworth (128 miles)S De Sousa3 8-5-2/1
2016SheikhzayedroadD M Simcock (128 miles)M Harley7 9-3-10/3
2015PallasatorSir M Prescott (128 miles)A Atzeni6 9-3-9/2
2014EstimateSir M Stoute (128 miles)R L Moore5 9-0-11/8
2013Times UpE Dunlop (128 miles)R L Moore7 9-3-3/1
2012Times UpJ Dunlop (221 miles)E Ahern6 9-1-5/1
2011Saddler's RockJohn Oxx N G McCullagh3 8-1-11/2
2010SamuelJ Gosden (128 miles)W Buick6 9-1-5/1
2009Askar TauM Tregoning (212 miles)R L Moore4 9-4-5/2
2008HonoluluA P O'Brien Johnny Murtagh4 9-1-15/8
2007SeptimusA P O'Brien Johnny Murtagh4 9-4-11/10
2006Sergeant CecilB Millman (242 miles)L Dettori7 9-4-/
2005MillenaryJ Dunlop (221 miles)T Quinn8 9-4-11/4
2004MillenaryJ Dunlop (221 miles)T Quinn7 9-4-7/1
2003Persian PunchD Elsworth (128 miles)M Dwyer10 9-4-3/1
2002BoreasL Cumani (128 miles)J P Spencer7 9-1-7/2
2001AlleluiaSir M Prescott (128 miles)J Mackay3 7-11-14/1
2000EnzeliJohn Oxx Johnny Murtagh5 9-7-15/2
1999Far CryM Pipe (238 miles)Kevin Darley4 9-0-6/1
1998Double TriggerM Johnston (73 miles)D Holland7 9-5-9/4