11th - 14th September 2019

15:00 Doncaster 14 Sep 2019

Pommery Champagne Stakes

Group 2 | Class 1 | 2YO only

Winner £42,532 - 5 ran

7f 6y

Good to Firm

Draw Advantage: High

Last year’s race
Too Darn Hot
  • Winner: Too Darn Hot
  • Jockey: L Dettori
  • Trainer: J H M Gosden
  • Owner: Lord Lloyd-Webber
  • Age: 2 Weight: 9st 0lb
  • Starting Price: 4/11f
  • Season Form Figures: 11
  • Previous Best: 1st - Solario Stakes (Group 3), Sandown (Sept 2018)

Just one winner in the last 22 years has been sent off at bigger than 8/1 and the biggest priced winner in the race’s near 200-year history (first run in 1823) was a 20/1 shot so stick to the leading fancies.

Last-time-out maiden winners have a good record given that it’s quite a jump to Group 2 level with Distant Music (1999), Dubai Destination (2001), Almushahar (2002), Etlaala (2004), Vital Equine (2006), Saamidd (2010), Emotionless (2015) and Rivet (2016) all successfully making the grade.

Last-time-out maiden winners have a good record given that it’s quite a jump to Group 2 level.

Surprisingly, only two previous Group winners have won in the last 15 years, Estidkhaar in 2014 and Too Darn Hot who followed up his success in the Group 3 Solario Stakes last season. Estidkhaar had previously won the July Stakes so was good enough to overcome a 3lb penalty for his success unlike other Group 2 race winners to take their chance here. Two of the three winners prior to Saamidd (Westphalia and McCartney) fell in between maiden winners and Group winners having won a Listed contest, as was the case for the 2012 winner. 

If you still prefer to concentrate on pattern-race form, then make it from Glorious Goodwood. The winner of the Richmond Stakes (6f) or Vintage Stakes (7f) have fared well here though admittedly not for some time but few winners of those events have taken their chance in the Champagne Stakes recently. Sri Pekan (1994) and Daggers Drawn (1997) followed up here after winning the Richmond Stakes over 6f whilst Alhaarth (1995) and Lucky Story (2003) took the Champagne Stakes straight off the back of landing the Vintage Stakes (7f). the 2017 winner, Seahenge, also contested the Vintage Stakes where he was back in fifth. Winning form at 7f has been important with 12 of the last 15 winners having done so beforehand.

Godolphin have won four of the last ten runnings (and supplied the second and third in 2016) and they would also have bagged three more wins between 2000-2002 but for Sheikh Mohammed’s policy at the time to have his two-year-olds in training with David Loder who saddled Noverre (Godolphin silks), Dubai Destination (Sheikh Mohammed silks) and Almushahar (Hamdan Al Maktoum silks) so be in no doubt that this operation has a soft spot for this prize, as it does the fillies’ equivalent race at this meeting, the May Hill.

The Hannon stable won the 2011 and 2012 runnings with Trumpet Major and Toronado having also won the 1986 edition with their 2000 Guineas winner, Don’t Forget Me, so their entries should also be noted. Sir Michael Stoute surprisingly doesn’t target this Group 2 event, maybe as his best 2yos tend to have their debut late in the season, hence he has saddled only three runners in this contest in the last 29 years. However, all three placed with two finishing second so take note in that eventuality. John Gosden twice won this Group 2 contest in the 1980s but his subsequent six runners have failed to place until Too Darn Hot won last year.

At a glance summary

Owned by Godolphin
Last-time-out maiden winners
Last-time-out Listed race winners
Trained by Richard Hannon
The Richmond Stakes or Vintage Stakes winner
Group race winners
Likely to start bigger than 8/1
Yet to win at 7f (unless won the Richmond)

Previous Winners

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Age/Wt OR SP
2018Too Darn HotJ H M GosdenL Dettori2 9-01164/11
2017SeahengeA P O'Brien D O'Brien2 9-0-8/1
2016RivetW Haggas (128 miles)A Atzeni2 9-0-7/4
2015EmotionlessC Appleby (128 miles)W Buick2 9-0-8/13
2014EstidhkaarR Hannon (184 miles)P Hanagan2 9-3-10/11
2013OutstripC Appleby (128 miles)M Barzalona2 8-12-13/8
2012ToronadoR Hannon (184 miles)R Hughes2 8-12-11/4
2011Trumpet MajorR Hannon (184 miles)R Hughes2 8-12-7/1
2010SaamiddS bin Suroor (128 miles)L Dettori2 8-12-5/6
2009Poet's VoiceS bin Suroor (128 miles)L Dettori2 8-12-11/8
2008Super PistachioA P O'Brien Johnny Murtagh2 8-12-10/3
2007MccartneyM Johnston (73 miles)R L Moore2 8-12-8/1
2006Vital EquineE O'Neill R Mullen2 8-12-16/1
2005Close To YouT Mills (187 miles)J F Egan2 8-10-8/1
2004EtlaalaB W Hills (167 miles)Richard Hills2 8-10-6/1
2003Lucky StoryM Johnston (73 miles)D Holland2 9-0-2/1
2002AlmushaharD Loder (139 miles)L Dettori2 8-10-8/11
2001Dubai DestinationD Loder (139 miles)L Dettori2 8-10-3/1
2000NoverreD Loder (139 miles)L Dettori2 9-0-7/2
1999Distant MusicB W Hills (167 miles)Michael Hills2 8-10-13/8
1998Auction HouseB W Hills (167 miles)Michael Hills2 8-10-7/2